Prometheus

A warning about Google

Posted in meta by dpillay on April 10, 2009

As many of you may know I have used the ‘dpillay’ google id for almost 3 odd years that is until one fine day Google decided to ‘disable’ my account. I have yet not been able to reactivate it and customer support has been abysmal. Research on the net shows me that there are scores of other users who have been afflicted by this seemingly ‘random’ problem. I am sure I did not violate their ToC in any way so it must be a bug.

The problem here is that Google apps are so intertwined that I lost in one shot – gmail (3 years of important emails and contacts), my blog at blogspot (dpillay.blogspot.com), my orkut profile and worst of all 10GB of photos in Picasa which was space I actually paid for! FB and mass emailing seems to be the only way to let people know that I will not be posting on that blog anymore.

This isn’t even about depending too much on a ‘free lunch’ cause I was all the while happily thinking that buying space from Google would NOT let such things happen. But apparently, that does not count. This is the reason I switched to fastmail.fm for email and have found the service simply fantastic.

Please take a backup of everything you have with Google as soon as possible.

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Avadhut Phatarpekar said, on March 7, 2011 at 10:34

    WTF! I thought buying space on Google would serve as photo backup today. And since I change OSs almost every week, that is the only place they are at right now. ::gulp::

    Amazon S3, here I come.


Leave a Reply

